The United States had an isolationist outlook on international policies during its early history. But that has changed, starting in the 20 th century. The United States is now involved in many international organizations, including The North Atlantic Treaty Organization. "The North Atlantic Alliance was founded on the basis of a Treaty between member states entered into freely by each of them after public debate and due parliamentary process.

The Treaty upholds their individual rights as well as their international obligations in accordance with the Charter of the United Nations. It commits each member country to sharing the risks and responsibilities as well as the benefits of collective security and requires of each of them the undertaking not to enter into any other international commitment which might conflict the Treaty"1. There is a now a debate in the United States over whether or not we have a place in the international community. Many say that the United States is only making things worse by interfering with other countries such as Iraq, but in reality the U. S. is helping throughout the world.

How is it possible for people to live without freedoms and at least a small sense of peace? It's not possible and that's one of the main reasons that the United States plays and important role in the international community; the United States is bringing newfound freedoms to countries that have not previously known of them. We are also bringing a sense of peace and well being to those countries. The United States is meant to be involved in the international community. The North Atlantic Treaty Organization is a regional defense alliance that was created by the North Atlantic Treaty.

It original signatories include: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, the United Kingdom, Iceland, Italy, Luxemburg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, and the United States. Other countries were admitted later, including, Greece and Turkey, in 1952; West Germany, in 1955; Spain, in 1982; the newly unified Germany, in 1990; and Hungary, Poland, and the Czech Republic, in 1999. Today 19 nations are full members of the alliance. In the years between 1939 and 1945, many western leaders believed the policies of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) threatened international stability and peace. Their forcible installation of Communist governments throughout Eastern Europe, territorial demands by the soviets, and their support of guerrilla war in Greece and regional separatism in Iran appeared to many as the first steps of World War III. Events such as these prompted the signing of the Dunrick Treaty, in 1957, between Britain and France.

The Dunrick Treaty pledged a common defense against aggression. Subsequent events, including the rejection by Eastern European nations of the European Recovery Program (Marshall Plan) and the creation of Cominform, a European Communist Organization, in 1947, led to the Brussels Treaty signed by most Western European countries in 1948. The collective defense of its members was along the goals of that pact. In March 1948, the Berlin Blockade began. This led to negotiations between Canada, the United States, and Western Europe that resulted in the North Atlantic Treaty. The North Atlantic Treaty consists of a preamble and fourteen articles.

The preamble states the purpose of the treat: to promote the values of its members to "unite their efforts for collective defense." Article one calls for peaceful resolution of disputes. Article two pledges the parties to economic and political cooperation. Article three calls for the development of the capacity for defense. Article four provides the joint consultations when a member is threatened. Article five promises the use of the members' armed forces for "collective self-defense." Article six defines the areas covered by the treaty. Article seven affirms the precedence of members' obligations under the United Nations charter.

Article eight safeguards against conflict with any implementation of the treaty. Article nine creates a council to oversee implementation of the treaty. Article ten describes admission procedures for other nations. Article eleven states the ratification of the treaty. Article twelve allows for reconsideration of the treaty. Article thirteen outlines withdrawal procedures.

Article fourteen calls for the deposition of the official copies of the treaty in the U. S. archives. The highest authority within NATO is the North Atlantic Council. It is composed of permanent delegates from all members, headed by a secretary general. The North Atlantic Council is responsible for general policy, budgetary outlines, and administrative actions.

It is also the decision-making body of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.