The framers of our constitution sought to create a central government strong enough to meet the nation's needs and still preserve the strength of the States. The federal system divided government power into two basic levels of government. These include the National and State. The division of powers divides them and the Supreme Court settles disputes between the two.

The powers of the National Government are delegated in three distinct types: expressed, implied and inherent. The expressed include the power to lay and collect taxes, to coin money and to regulate foreign and interstate commerce, maintain armed forces, to declare war, etc. They also grant powers to the President and to the Supreme Court. The Implied powers are suggested in the Constitution by the expressed powers.

Examples include regulation to build highways and dams and prohibiting racial discrimination in restaurants and public places. The Inherent powers are few and include regulating immigration, to deport undocumented aliens, etc. the The powers of the State Governments are reserved governments. They are given these powers because they are not granted to the National Government and not denied to the State. However, my rights are denied to the State as well as the National Government.

The powers granted to the National Government and State Governments are given in exclusive powers; powers exercised by National Government alone and concurrent powers; powers granted to both governments. Due to conflicts in the two governments, the Supreme Court settles these disputes. The Supreme Court joins the two governments and acts as the umpire in the federal system by establishing the supremacy clause. This clause creates hierarchy laws, which states that local law must yield to State Law and State Law must yield to federal law. At the height of the hierarchy, stands the constitution, which stands before all law in the United States.